Liz Truss’s first cabinet: Who’s in and who’s out

Kwasi KwartengImage source, PA Media

Prime Minister Liz Truss is putting the finishing touches to her cabinet team.

We take a look at who is known to be leaving government, and some of the possible new faces.

Who’s in the Cabinet?

Ms Truss’s ally and friend Kwasi Kwarteng has been confirmed as the new chancellor, in charge of the economy. He was previously business secretary.

Therese Coffey – another close ally – moves from work and pensions to become health secretary and deputy prime minister.

James Cleverly moves from being education secretary to become the new foreign secretary.

Mr Cleverly is replaced at the education department by Kit Malthouse.

Suella Braverman has become home secretary; while Ben Wallace stays as defence secretary. Nadhim Zahawi has become Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, running the Cabinet Office. He’s also minister for intergovernmental relations and minister for equalities.

The job of business, energy and industrial strategy secretary goes to Jacob Rees-Mogg, Simon Clarke becomes levelling up secretary and Ranil Jayawardena heads the environment department.

A leadership contender Kemi Badenoch takes on the role of international trade secretary, while Michelle Donelan becomes the new culture secretary.

Chloe Smith is promoted from a work and pensions minister to leading the department as work and pensions secretary and Anne-Marie Trevelyan moves to transport.

The Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales departments will be headed by Chris Heaton-Harris, Alister Jack and Sir Robert Buckland respectively.

Penny Mordaunt is Leader of the Commons, the role that looks after legislation. Brandon Lewis is justice secretary, Alok Sharma remains as COP president, and Lord True is leader of the Lords.

Jake Berry – who chairs the Northern Research Group of Tory MPs – is Tory chairman and minister without portfolio, and Wendy Morton is the first Conservative female chief whip.

New Chief Secretary to the Treasury Chris Philp, Attorney General Michael Ellis, foreign office minister Vicky Ford and security minister Tom Tugendhat will also attend cabinet.

Who’s out?

On Monday, Home Secretary Priti Patel and Culture Secretary Nadine Dorries made it known they would be standing down.

Ms Patel had been expected to be replaced at the Home Office but insisted leaving government was “her choice”. Ms Dorries – a prominent figure in the Truss campaign – was asked to stay on, but plans to return to writing novels.

Deputy Prime Minister and Justice Secretary Dominic Raab – who backed Rishi Sunak in the leadership contest – has confirmed he is returning to the backbenches. So too are Transport Secretary Grant Shapps, Health Secretary Steve Barclay, Levelling Up Secretary Greg Clark, and Northern Ireland Secretary Shailesh Vara.

Image source, Reuters

Image caption,

Nadine Dorries and Priti Patel at celebrations for the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee

Veterans Minister Johnny Mercer, who attended Cabinet, has also been sacked. As has another figure who attended Cabinet, party co-chairman Andrew Stephenson.

Another Sunak supporter – former Levelling Up Secretary Michael Gove – has said he expects not to be a member of the new government.

It’s thought unlikely Rishi Sunak himself will feature in Ms Truss’s team – he told the BBC a return to the cabinet was “not something I’m thinking about”.

Former Conservative leader Iain Duncan Smith told the BBC’s World At One he had been offered a cabinet job but turned it down in favour of staying on the backbenches.