Sheebah, Ghetto Kids Nominated in Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards Battling Mo Salah, Emmanuela!

Triplets Ghetto Kids just like their mentor, Eddy Kenzo have received a nod in the Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards in the Favourite African Social Star category.

They will tussle it out with Nigerian comedienne Emmanuella; skit makers, Ikorodu Bois, fast-rising Kenyan comedienne Elsa Majimbo and South African magician Wian Van Den Berg.

Sheebah Karungi is also up for the Favourite African Star Award among with others including Miss Universe Zozibini Tunzi (South Africa), actress Thuso Mbedu (South Africa), two-time nominee, philanthropist, and Springbok Rugby Captain Siya Kolisi (South Africa), Liverpool Football Club soccer star Mo Salah (Egypt), Sadio Mane, Liverpool midfielder (Senegal).

The Ghetto Kids and Sheebah are the third & fourth Ugandans to be nominated in the awards. The first was Ann Kansime, then Eddy Kenzo.

The Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards is an annual American children’s awards ceremony show that honors the year’s biggest television, movie, and music act as voted by viewers of Nickelodeon networks worldwide.

The Kids’ Choice Awards will be announcing new categories in the weeks leading up to the show. The voting process is open and fans can vote for their favourite nominees via the Kids’ Choice Awards official website(link is external).

Now in its 34th edition, the Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards is an annual children’s awards ceremony show by the US TV network. The ceremony honours the best individuals in television, movie and music acts. 

Below is the list of categories Africans were nominated in:

Favourite Global Music Star 

  • Master KG (Africa)
  • BTS (Asia)
  • Savannah Clarke (Australia)
  • David Guetta (Europe)
  • Taylor Swift (North America)
  • Sebastián Yatra (Latin America)

Favourite African Star

  • Mo Salah
  • Sadio Mane
  • Sheebah
  • Siya Kolisi
  • Thuso Mbedu
  • Zozibini Tunzi

Favourite African Social Star

  • Bonang
  • Elsa Majimbo
  • Emmanuella
  • Ghetto Kids
  • Ikorodu Bois
  • Wian Van Den Berg