Russia sanctions hundreds more Australians

Russia says it is sanctioning more than 120 additional Australian citizens, blaming Australia’s alleged “Russophobic agenda”.

Russia’s foreign ministry has announced it is sanctioning an additional 121 Australian citizens, including journalists and defence officials.

The move cited Australia’s “Russophobic agenda”.

Journalists from ABC News, The Sydney Morning Herald and Sky News were among the newly-sanctioned, as well as several defence officials.

Invest in the journalism that made a difference.

EOFY Sale. A year for just $99.

SAVE 50%

Russia announced a similar move against dozens of British journalists on Tuesday.


with Reuters


Save this EOFY while you make a difference

Australia has spoken. We want more from the people in power and deserve a media that keeps them on their toes. And thank you, because it’s been made abundantly clear that at Crikey we’re on the right track.

We’ve pushed our journalism as far as we could go. And that’s only been possible with reader support. Thank you. And if you haven’t yet subscribed, this is your time to join tens of thousands of Crikey members to take the plunge.

Peter Fray

Peter Fray

SAVE 50%